Act now for your full-power radio station!

Important public service announcement:

The FCC is opening up a rare opportunity where they will be giving away free radio licenses to non-profit organizations (does not have to be 501(c)3).

Usually commercial stations like this sell for millions of dollars, but since these are non-commercial channels they are given out for free. If your group meets the qualifications, and a frequency is available, you can start a radio station.

Sound too good to be true? There is a catch. Well, several catches. The channels that are available are mostly just in smaller cities. Your group would have to pay for engineering and legal consultants, and the costs of equipment, which can add up.

And most places only have one or two open channels, and sometimes the competition can be complicated between the various activist groups, agencies, schools, and churches for that one channel. But your group has as good a chance as anyone else!

And, finally, this is the first time that the FCC has done this in close to 15 years and it is quite possible that it will be another 15 years before they open it again. If you want to know more, call the Radio For People Coalition. You can call Coalition groups Prometheus Radio Project at 215-727-9620 who can help you to claim your communities slice of the FM dial!

Prometheus Radio Project has helped to build radio stations for civil rights groups, unions, schools, tribes, environmentalists and neighborhood organizations of all sorts, and can help you evaluate whether this is right for your organization, and if it is, lead you through the process.

More info: Full Throttle — Full Power Non-Commercial Educational Window Opening Pretty Soon

2 Comments

  1. I’m looking to start my own radio station & I have a really good idea . I just don’t want to get ripped the powers that be . If you would like to here more . please get back to me . I’m not trying to rip anyone I just don’t want to get ripped myself . thank you for your time & hope to hear from some one soon .

  2. I’m looking to start my own radio station & I have a really good idea . I just don’t want to get ripped the powers that be . If you would like to here more . please get back to me . I’m not trying to rip anyone I just don’t want to get ripped myself . thank you for your time & hope to hear from some one soon .mylesworks@gmail.com

RSS feed for comments on this post

Comments are closed.

