NYPD parade rules: Whatever they are, I object

Earlier this week, I encouraged you to take action to thwart the NYPD’s rewrite of the city’s overly vague parade rules. I objected not because of the content, but because of the process, calling it Singapore on the Hudson.

The NYPD Deputy Commissioner of Public Information sent this out Friday afternoon:

In view of comments already received on the proposed revision to Chapter 19 of Title 38 of the Official Compilation of Rules of the City of New York, the Police Departmwnt has withdrawn the proposed revisions regarding parade permits and will publish new ones in the City Record narrower in scope with a new hearing date. As a result, the public hearing scheduled for Wednesday, August 23, 2006 has been cancelled.

From what I understand they will simply raise the number of people that can constitute a parade from two to something like ten.

As far as I’m concerned, that doesn’t change a thing. If the NYPD is writing the rules, I object.

The NYPD should have less authority over parades and protests, not more.

6 Comments

  1. [...] UPDATE: NYPD has withdrawn the first draft, which is why it’s important to object to the principle, not the content. [...]

  2. Agent KGB said

    Freedom of the people to peaceably assemble is guaranteed in the first amendment. The NYPD does not have the right to infringe on that, nor does anyone else.

  3. ced33 said

    I believe that every person has a freedom to rally to parade as long as they have permit to do so. Now , if the NYPD have problems with that then all they could do is watch over who parades and do their job as public servants.

  4. [...] Or maybe public assembly is a kind of media. The friends of Brad Will are certainly trying to use it to distribute information with a lunchtime bike ride tomorrow, November 1, starting at 40th Street and the West Side Highway. Anyway, thanks to a public eruption of opposition to the laws, they withdrew the proposal. But that didn’t change the fact that the police have no business writing laws. That should be up to a legislature, like City Council. [...]

  5. I agree… to a point. I do real estate.. so I have no problem if I’m trying to sell a home to an Italian family, to have an Italian celebration parade or something going on, with them being allowed to do whatever they want; but if that parade get’s rowdy, and I’m showing a house.. I’d want the police there to make sure it doesn’t get out of hand. It’s a fine line, which will never be met perfectly.

  6. Check out my blog, I actually did encounter a parade recently during a showing. New York Real Estate

RSS feed for comments on this post

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

